Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

 

Are you #ReadyForThisJelly? Because the Ocean Invaders have arrived at SEALIFE London Aquarium and you don’t want to miss them.

 

Visit The New Ocean Invaders Attraction at SEALIFE London Aquarium

First of all, wow. Just wow! After visiting the new attraction I can see exactly what the hype has all been about. Jellyfish. Zillions of them, and all in a submersive, interactive experience that will leave you quite literally stunned, in a good way.

 

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

 

We were so lucky to be invited for an exclusive tour to see Ocean Invaders, the largest jellyfish exhibit in the UK, before the aquarium opened to the public at the weekend. Exciting stuff! If you want to replicate our visit you can do so by arriving super early to be one of the first in line at opening time. It’s really worth it.

 

 

#ReadyForThisJelly?

The brand new attraction, Ocean Invaders, is located in the very last area of the aquarium. As we headed towards the impressive entrance, it’s without a doubt that SEALIFE have saved the best till last. What a contrast to the other zones. The clever detailing gives the impression of being submerged in the deep blue sea making this experience all the more special.

 

 

Learn Something New

We were really impressed by the way the space has been grouped into 3 zones. By far the most interesting for me was zone 1, learning about the life cycle of jellyfish. Did you know that jellyfish don’t always look like ‘jellyfish’ as they go through several form transformations over their lifetime, it’s incredible isn’t it?

 

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

 

It’s not every day that you get to see little tiddler jellyfish up close and personal, and there was just enough written information and tidbits to keep everyone engaged. It felt like there was so much to discover, and Little Button was in awe of the beautifully lit jellyfish tanks. I think she would have stood there all day if she could.

 

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

 

An Interactive Experience

Little hands love to be kept busy, and zone 2 certainly provided this. We had a giggle and a jump testing out what a jellyfish sting might feel like. This was through sound and no actual stinging was involved I must add. Further tanks of jellyfish were there to be discovered, including the upside down jellyfish which were quite a lovely surprise.

 

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

 

Little Button couldn’t wait to get her hands on the huge interactive gaming station, where players can try out the best ways to help their jellyfish thrive. It was really interesting to test out temperature, food and even pollution variations to see what happened, and see how big you could grow your jellyfish swarm!

 

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

 

 

Jellyfish Swarm

The big finale of Ocean Invaders is zone 3. We felt like we had stepped right into a jellyfish swarm! Clever tanks and video effects like no other in the aquarium left us completely ‘wowed’ and with a whole new appreciation for these beautiful creatures.

 

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

 

 

Final Thoughts

We came away from our experience feeling like we had discovered something new and exciting about the hidden depths of the seas. And actually, curious to find out more about jellyfish and perhaps not so scared of them either. I get the impression that SEALIFE London Aquarium are very passionate about their exhibits, and all the staff we came in contact with were knowledgeable and keen to chat about #SEALIFE at the aquarium. We would most definitely recommend a visit.

 

Ocean Invaders at SEALIFE London Aquarium

 

Our Top Tips For Visiting SEALIFE London Aquarium

  1. Arrive before opening time or in the last couple of hours before closing time for a less crowded visit.
  2. If you pre book, you will typically get in faster.
  3. Buggies are allowed through the aquarium.
  4. Towards the shark tank is a lovely little pit stop where you can stroke the starfish! Awwww.
  5. In the same pit stop is also face painting (London prices) and a place where you can have a penny squashed and stamped with a choice of sea creature as a souvenir, this costs £1 to do and you need your own penny. The littles seem to love this.
  6. There is no on-site restaurant, however, it is right next door to MacDonalds and lots of child friendly places to eat are just a few minutes’ walk away.
  7. For discounted tickets and fab attraction combination options check out 365 tickets.

 

 

Disclosure: We were invited to an exclusive tour of the new Ocean Invaders experience at SEALIFE London Aquarium. All views are my own and I can say that we all LOVED IT!

 

 

3 Little Buttons

 

Cuddle Fairy

 

Follow:

44 Comments

  1. Marie Fernandes
    April 24, 2017 / 2:44 pm

    Makes me want to visit! Thank you for such an informative exciting and interesting overview.

  2. April 25, 2017 / 8:11 am

    Wow it looks amazing! I haven’t been to an aquarium in soo long 🙁 #DreamTeam

  3. April 25, 2017 / 12:19 pm

    Oooh this looks fab! Jellyfish always seem like such relaxing creatures, bobbing around the ocean! Haha. The exhibition looks great. #dreamteam

  4. April 25, 2017 / 2:36 pm

    Wow! This looks awesome. I swam through jelly fish when I was pregnant. They were ones that didn’t sting. It was amazing. #dreamteam

  5. April 25, 2017 / 4:10 pm

    Wow! It looks awesome. Sad to admit that when I lived in London all my money went on survival, transport and drinking. I hardly did any of the attractions that cost money. I actually travelled right past the aquarium every day for nearly two years and still never went in.
    Great post with fab photos!
    #dreamteam

  6. April 25, 2017 / 4:12 pm

    Wow this look amazing – such great photos! Thanks for all the info – we will be going. #DreamTeam

  7. April 25, 2017 / 5:06 pm

    Hi, I’m not Adan of jelly fish but this exhibit look amazing. I think I may just have to visit #dreamteam

  8. April 25, 2017 / 6:19 pm

    This looks amazing!!I definitely wish I lived in London so we could go. It looks kind of magical xx #dreamteam

  9. April 25, 2017 / 6:55 pm

    Those jellyfish pics are stunning! They’re really kind of beautiful creatures, despite their squidginess and stingyness. #DreamTeam

  10. April 25, 2017 / 7:20 pm

    Wow! I think I love visiting places like this more than the kids! #dreamteam

  11. Sounds like a great experience. Some amazing photos! If my daughter were a little older I think she would love this. I might take her later in the year! Thanks for sharing x #DreamTeam

  12. Nige
    April 25, 2017 / 7:34 pm

    This looks fab we also had invite but couldn’t make it looking at pictures I’m gutted great review thanks for hosting #dreamteam

  13. April 25, 2017 / 8:15 pm

    We’re massive fans of the jellies here! I used to take the tots to The Deep all the time as babies and the jellies were out sensory play haha. (Not with the jellies obvs. Bit stingy and all that.) This place looks incredible and so interactive! Just wish we lived closer. Thanks for being such a fab host! #DreamTeam x

  14. April 25, 2017 / 8:35 pm

    This looks fantastic, some amazing photos ! The boys would love this x #DreamTeam

  15. April 25, 2017 / 8:55 pm

    This looks like such an amazing sensory feature at the Sealife centre! Totally added to our list of Summer trips, thanks for such a great review. #MarvMondays

  16. April 25, 2017 / 8:56 pm

    Wow that really looks fascinating. Defiantly on the to do list!
    #dreamteam

  17. April 25, 2017 / 9:00 pm

    This looks like such an amazing sensory feature at the Sealife centre! Totally added to our list of Summer trips, thanks for such a great review. #DreamTeam

  18. April 25, 2017 / 9:00 pm

    Amazing photos! I can’t wait to take my two there #dreamteam

  19. April 25, 2017 / 9:01 pm

    This looks amazing! I love all of your photographs, really stunning. Thanks for the tips, I’m always nervous about big days out so good to see what others thought! #dreamteam

  20. April 25, 2017 / 9:15 pm

    Great pics, sounds like you had a fun day out. I love watching jellyfish, something a bit hypnotic about them! #DreamTeam

  21. April 26, 2017 / 5:47 am

    Wow, looks stunning. I’ll have to add this to the list when we finally get to do a London trip x
    #DreamTeam

  22. April 26, 2017 / 2:36 pm

    Wow that looks so cool and the photos are AMAZING!! glad you had fun – can’t wait to do stuff like this when my toddler comes to London with us some time. We visited an aquarium on holiday last year and she loved it x #DreamTeam

  23. April 26, 2017 / 8:01 pm

    Ooh great, we are definitely keen to visit the new jellyfish exhibits at SeaLife London. Thanks for all the tips. They’ll help me out a lot! #DreamTeam

  24. April 26, 2017 / 10:01 pm

    This looks amazing! Last time we went to the aquarium Rory loved it. He enjoys looking at animals but the bright lights made it even more attractive! #DreamTeam

  25. April 26, 2017 / 10:14 pm

    Love the aquarium! It can be so hard to take good pictures, but these turned out beautifully!. #dreamteam

  26. April 27, 2017 / 5:47 am

    Wow! This looks like such a fun family adventure. Deff want to go. The pictures you took dont even look real! xx #dreamteam

  27. April 27, 2017 / 1:29 pm

    This looks like a great exhibition – I do love watching the jellyfish when visiting an aquarium. It looks like you had a lovely day out #dreamteam

  28. April 27, 2017 / 7:57 pm

    looks awesome! I don;t know if is good place for 1 year old baby but definitely we will go there when he will be a little bit older
    #DreamTeam

  29. April 27, 2017 / 8:01 pm

    This looks AMAZING! We love the Sealife centres but I’ve never seen jellyfish like this! Your photos are absolutely stunning, I LOVE Jellyfish! #dreamteam

  30. April 28, 2017 / 9:36 am

    Wow! that looks amazing, such fun and so much to learn too. Oooh I want to go!:)
    Mainy
    #dreamteam

  31. April 28, 2017 / 8:52 pm

    This looks like it would be a great experience for our littlies. I can imagine eldest pointing out ‘fish’. #DreamTeam

  32. April 29, 2017 / 9:04 am

    I haven’t been there for years. I love the Jelly fish, I must take Jasmine in soon #dreamteam

  33. April 29, 2017 / 12:22 pm

    This sounds like an amazing experience, I cant wait to take Ben to a sealife!! #dreamteam

  34. April 29, 2017 / 2:23 pm

    Wow! This looks really cool! Love it! We have a very small aquarium in our city and the kids love it but this is obviously in a different league! #DreamTeam

  35. April 29, 2017 / 3:05 pm

    This looks amazing and those pictures are fantastic! #dreamteam

  36. April 30, 2017 / 2:10 pm

    Wow that looks brilliant and so cool! What a fab day out with Little Button, she looks mesmerised. I wonder if they’re going to bring something similar to the Brighton one, that’d be lovely. Thank you for hosting #dreamteam with me xxx

  37. May 1, 2017 / 6:00 pm

    Sounds lovely! Beautiful pictures 🙂 #DreamTeam

  38. May 3, 2017 / 8:39 pm

    What brilliant photos, it looks great! I had no idea that jellyfish don’t always look like jellyfish! #dreamteam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *