My First Scalextric Review & #Giveaway – A Perfect Christmas Gift

 

I’ve just realised that Little Button owns no toy cars, bar one remote control one which she doesn’t play with. #badmumaward. I’m not sure how that fact snuck past me at all. Especially as playing cars was up there as one of my favourite games when I was little. I used to build a track out of books around the front room, sending toy cars flying up ramps and speeding through tunnels. But how to introduce playing at cars to a little one who’s never really shown interest in playing with them before? Three words. My First Scalextric.

 

 

Introducing My First Scalextric

I decided not to tell Little Button that the lovely folk at Scalextric were sending her their brilliant introductory set to try out. The suspense (for me) of waiting for it to arrive was enough! I’ve actually always wanted a Scalextric set, but way back then, it was more in the ‘boys toys’ techie territory. This set certainly breaks that old mould, with the upbeat packaging appealing to everyone.

 

My First Scalextric Review

 

 

What’s Inside the My First Scalextric set?

Everything you need to race two cars! What more could you want. We opened up to the box and to my relief, the track looked pretty simple to put together. There are two hand controllers that can be adjusted according to your little ones level. 2 gorgeous shiny rally cars for racing round the track. These are colour coordinated so you know which belongs where on the track, and to who. And of course the necessary power supply to keep things running.

 

My First Scalextric Review

My First Scalextric Review

 

 

Getting Set Up

We had a massive blooper with setting up the track. It took a few minutes (and that was with Little Button joining in) to whizz around getting the figure of eight track in place. The power supply plugged in, as well as the controllers. #Win. Except it didn’t work. Doh! Being a complete beginner, I hadn’t fully pushed the track entirely together. Opps. But once corrected by Daddy Button, the track needed no further tweaks and everything ran like clockwork. Quick tip: make sure the track pieces are fit snuggly together or the circuit will be broken and the cars won’t be able to run.

 

My First Scalextric Review

 

 

Taking Toy Cars To Another Level 

We were mesmerised for a whole evening taking it in turns to race each other on the My First Scalextric track for the first time. Shrieking with laughter as cars went flying off the track and congratulating each other for record laps. And this was a little girl who hadn’t played cars like this before!

 

My First Scalextric Review

My First Scalextric Review

 

Little Button loves this set, and since the first day of playing it, it’s come out of its box every day to be played with. Either on her own or with the whole family joining in with the fun.

 

My First Scalextric Review

My First Scalextric Review

My First Scalextric Review

 

Personally, I love the vibrant colours and simplicity of it which make it really inviting to play for a beginner. I know that Mr Button has been eyeing up the more advanced sets already, but I do think that this one is perfect for 3 year olds and upwards. Little Button is 5 years old, and this was a great fit for her.

 

 

Our Overall Thoughts

My First Scalextric is fast and furious, yet ideal for younger racers and complete beginners. It would make a great gift, especially with Christmas round the corner. And we love that there are no batteries to worry about thanks to the plug in power pack! The track has been designed to withstand being set up and down, so we had no worries about finding a permanent home for it. I can’t think of anything that could match this!

 

My First Scalextric is available to purchase over on the official Scalextric website and currently retails at £39.99 (as at October 2017).

 

 

 

My First Scalextric Giveaway

Fancy winning your very own set? Enter our giveaway below to be in with a chance. *This giveaway is open from the 22nd October – 5th November 2017.

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

My First Scalextric Review

 

 

Terms and Conditions:

  • Open to UK participants only.
  • 1 (one) winner will receive 1 (one) My First Scalextric.
  • The prize will be delivered to the winner upon receipt of their email contact details (via FETCH publicity).
  • The Editor’s decision is final and binding on the entrants. No correspondence will be entered into.
  • There is no cash alternative to Prizes which are subject to availability, non-transferable, non-negotiable and non-refundable. Prizes may not be sold, offered for sale or used in connection with any other competition or promotion by the Prize winner.

 

 

Follow:

167 Comments

  1. October 23, 2017 / 5:22 am

    Wow this look brilliant! Alfie would absolutely love this for his Christmas present this year!

  2. sam macaree
    October 23, 2017 / 8:22 am

    my cousin’s daughter

  3. Leila Benhamida
    October 23, 2017 / 1:56 pm

    I will love to win for my children. They will have a blast.

  4. October 23, 2017 / 5:13 pm

    fab prize id love to win this for my nephew his 7 and would love this as starting to get into cars now.

  5. October 24, 2017 / 5:37 am

    This looks amazing. I loved Scalextric as a kid! #dreamteam

  6. October 24, 2017 / 6:23 am

    We used to have a Scalextric when I was growing up and it was one of the few toys that, when we got it out of the box, the whole family came to play with (parents included). I used to love it. I’d love to win this beginners one for my girls and recreate some of those happy memories from my own childhood #dreamteam
    Lucy At Home recently posted…38 Ways GIVEAWAYS Will Get You More Blog BusinessMy Profile

  7. October 24, 2017 / 6:45 am

    I’m very jealous. I never had a scalextric set. This starter set looks great.

  8. October 24, 2017 / 6:48 am

    My brother and I had a Scalextrix set when we were younger and we loved it so much. This set looks brilliant, your kids look like they are loving it! Fantastic review x #dreamteam

  9. October 24, 2017 / 6:54 am

    Ah good old Scalextric – you can’t beat it! My husband is on count down to when he can get some for Josh! xx #dreamteam

  10. October 24, 2017 / 7:02 am

    Ahh my brother had a Scalextrix when we were younger and it was great, it was a lot more complected than this though!! Ive entered thanks for sharing #DreamTeam

  11. October 24, 2017 / 11:14 am

    My daughter would love this, she loves cars. In a few years though, she’s still a bit young. Great review. #DreamTeam

  12. October 24, 2017 / 1:20 pm

    My boys have seen this advertised and desperately want it. Looks great for younger children, I remember always loved playing scalextric when I was younger X #dreamteam

  13. October 24, 2017 / 2:40 pm

    I loved playing cars – going to be first on the list for little when they arrive whether they are a boy or girl! Good to know what the “first” scalectrix set is like rather than the main one. Thanks #dreamteam

  14. October 24, 2017 / 3:01 pm

    This looks like great fun and reminds me of the one we had growing up although it was terrible, unlike this one haha. I’m sure Edith would love playing with this and my nephews too!

    #dreamteam

  15. Lyndsey Cooksey
    October 24, 2017 / 3:22 pm

    I would play it with my neice and nephew! They love coming round ours at the weekend and this would be lovely to play with them

  16. Tracy Hanley
    October 24, 2017 / 5:12 pm

    My grandson would love this

  17. laura banks
    October 24, 2017 / 6:37 pm

    my godson

  18. October 24, 2017 / 6:57 pm

    It looks great, i used to love Scalextrics when i was younger! Looks like its even better. Lovely photos btw. #DreamTeam

  19. October 24, 2017 / 7:25 pm

    Not going to lie, I am just a little bit jealous. Always wanted a Scalextrics when I was little #DreamTeam

  20. October 24, 2017 / 9:09 pm

    Oh wow this looks awesome. I never had one either, but my partner did. He’s always going on about it. This would be great for our little girl, she likes playing with cars and trains. x #dreamteam
    Ky recently posted…Blogging, cruise ships and schoolsMy Profile

  21. October 25, 2017 / 12:22 am

    Wow that’s a blast from the past! I can smell the track just thinking about it! Would love one of these #DreamTeamLinky

  22. October 25, 2017 / 2:25 am

    This looks so fun, I think I would play with it more than the kiddos. I would’ve taken part in the giveaway, but not a UK resident, argh! #dreamteam

  23. Elzbieta Znyk
    October 25, 2017 / 8:39 am

    For my daughters.

  24. Sarah Forster
    October 25, 2017 / 9:11 am

    I would love to win this for my little boy’s 3rd birthday. He loves all things cars!

  25. Stephanie Keill
    October 25, 2017 / 12:26 pm

    I would absolutely love to win this for my three sons, it would make a really brilliant Christmas present for them.

  26. iain maciver
    October 25, 2017 / 12:41 pm

    perfect for my nephew

  27. S Edwards
    October 25, 2017 / 12:49 pm

    for my two boys to share x

  28. October 25, 2017 / 2:59 pm

    My daughter would love this! So would her dad I think, haha! #DreamTeam

  29. October 25, 2017 / 3:34 pm

    I’ve never heard of this particular brand here in the States, but we have a whole box of Magic Trax, Hot Wheels and other racing car things. #dreamteam
    jeremy@thirstydaddy recently posted…A Silent SidelineMy Profile

  30. laura stewart
    October 25, 2017 / 3:38 pm

    for my daughter please x

  31. valerie cooper
    October 25, 2017 / 4:05 pm

    I would love to win this great prize to give to my grandson for christmas thanks

  32. Corinne wright
    October 25, 2017 / 4:29 pm

    This looks amazing! My youngest boy would love it

  33. Lucy B
    October 25, 2017 / 4:33 pm

    my little girl x

  34. October 25, 2017 / 5:59 pm

    This looked like so much fun!! I am sure my double trouble would love it 🙂 #dreamteam

  35. Amy Withnall
    October 25, 2017 / 6:15 pm

    I would keep it for when my nieces come to visit.

  36. Emma Whitworth
    October 25, 2017 / 7:21 pm

    For my little one! X

  37. Peggy rossiter
    October 25, 2017 / 7:38 pm

    For our grandchildren – something all of them could enjoy.
    It would be a trip down memory lane for their parents too and so they could all enjoy
    Playing with this – including the grandparents and great grandparents! Scalextric is a classic among toys and it would be a welcome change from electronic devices.

  38. Hannah Wallington
    October 25, 2017 / 8:31 pm

    I’d love this for my son

  39. Andrea Fletcher
    October 25, 2017 / 8:34 pm

    I would like to win this for my grandson.

  40. Sarah Addey
    October 25, 2017 / 9:07 pm

    Our daughter wouldclpve this

  41. Solange
    October 26, 2017 / 1:16 am

    My son.

  42. October 26, 2017 / 8:51 am

    I used to love playing with cars – I agree, I’d have loved this but it seemed more boys territory before (yeah, I know!). #dreamteam

  43. Rebecca Smith
    October 26, 2017 / 9:44 am

    i would love to win for my son Harry

  44. October 26, 2017 / 10:50 am

    The perfect gift for any child – boy or girl.#dreamteam

  45. Sally Collingwood
    October 26, 2017 / 11:07 am

    For my grandson Teddy!

  46. October 26, 2017 / 12:10 pm

    Ah this looks absolutely awesome! My youngest who is two would love this because his big brother has a 007 bond scaletrix! #dreamteam
    Jade – Raw Childhood recently posted…2 year old gift ideasMy Profile

  47. October 26, 2017 / 4:35 pm

    When I were little scalextric was always seen as a boys toy and we never had one, my daughter however would love one x
    #DreamTeam

  48. Graham Ross
    October 26, 2017 / 5:33 pm

    My nephew

  49. Hannah Scudder
    October 26, 2017 / 6:48 pm

    My son would love it!

  50. Michelle Ferguson
    October 26, 2017 / 7:05 pm

    I would love to win this for my nephew

  51. October 26, 2017 / 8:11 pm

    This looks amazing! We really want to get J one for his 3rd birthday present. He is car obsessed and wanted to play on daddy’s from when he was a boy, so we set it up and it didn’t work 🙁 Luckily, this one is being released at just the right time. #dreamteam
    Laura: Adventures with J recently posted…House Hunting: The Mummy CriteriaMy Profile

  52. LYNN HEATH
    October 27, 2017 / 8:02 am

    I would love to win this for my youngest daughter, I’m sure her big brother would be very keen to lend a helping hand too!

  53. astrid c
    October 27, 2017 / 6:30 pm

    my son for christmas

  54. Danielle Spencer
    October 27, 2017 / 7:54 pm

    I would love to win this for my little nephew.

  55. Lorraine Tinsley
    October 27, 2017 / 8:01 pm

    For my daughter Alice who is nearly 4

  56. Ren Taylor
    October 27, 2017 / 8:02 pm

    I would love to win this for my little nephew….he LOVES cars!!

  57. John Tingay
    October 27, 2017 / 8:05 pm

    I would like to win this for my niece, Mia, who is the perfect age for this.

  58. CLAIRE GLACE
    October 27, 2017 / 8:14 pm

    My lovely little grandaughter x

  59. Corinne Henson
    October 27, 2017 / 8:25 pm

    Would love to win this for my boys 🙂

  60. Sidrah Ahmed
    October 27, 2017 / 8:59 pm

    I would love to win this for my children

  61. Debbie Bird
    October 27, 2017 / 9:52 pm

    would love to win for my grandson

  62. Mel Brolly
    October 27, 2017 / 10:27 pm

    This would be a real treat for my two little girls

  63. Sarah Mackay
    October 27, 2017 / 10:30 pm

    Would love to win this for my daughter morgan

  64. Sanam Ali
    October 27, 2017 / 11:43 pm

    I would love to win this for my son

  65. Tracy Nixon
    October 28, 2017 / 4:12 am

    For my two little girls thank you x

  66. stuart hargreaves
    October 28, 2017 / 7:08 am

    My nephew who is car crazy great give away

  67. Amy Wright
    October 28, 2017 / 10:11 am

    For my 2 daughters and son who are all between 2 and 5 – they would love to play this together!

  68. Ray Becker
    October 28, 2017 / 1:12 pm

    Our grandson

  69. holly harmsworth
    October 28, 2017 / 7:02 pm

    this would be perfect for my nephew charlie

  70. ashleigh allan
    October 28, 2017 / 7:55 pm

    For my nephew!

  71. Lorna Ledger
    October 28, 2017 / 8:09 pm

    My amazing Niece and Nephew – thanks for the chance

  72. Anthony Harrington
    October 28, 2017 / 8:55 pm

    this would be for my little Grandson

  73. Catherine Powell
    October 28, 2017 / 11:36 pm

    I would like to win this for my son

  74. October 29, 2017 / 6:39 am

    THis looks fantastic! We had the older version and it needed batteries which was such a faff! It wasn’t colour coded either so sometimes the cars didn’t run properly! This sounds like a much better version and much easier for little ones! #DreamTeam

  75. MANDY DOHERTY
    October 29, 2017 / 10:01 am

    My grandsons would love racing against me

  76. Heather Hibbert
    October 29, 2017 / 12:48 pm

    For my stepson James

  77. October 29, 2017 / 3:23 pm

    Fab. I’ll never forget the look on little man’s face when he first saw his dad’s Scalextric! #dreamteam

  78. Oli Marshall
    October 29, 2017 / 4:18 pm

    What a lovely prize (AND a FANTASTIC review, by the way :))! I’d love to win for my little girl and my little boy. They are best friends and I can see them spending hours playing together with this amazing SCALEXTRIC.

  79. Toni Pearson
    October 29, 2017 / 7:00 pm

    for my niece

  80. Kim hill
    October 29, 2017 / 7:43 pm

    I would love to win for my four year old nephew!

  81. October 29, 2017 / 8:22 pm

    This looks like so much fun, and truth be known, I always wanted one as a kid, but my mom was so very gender-centric! Fun is fun! Play is play! Lovely review. #dreamteam xoxo
    Lisa Pomerantz recently posted…Notorious R.B.G: you are my hero!My Profile

  82. G Keegan
    October 29, 2017 / 9:14 pm

    My two children, as hopefully it would be something that they could play together.

  83. October 29, 2017 / 9:36 pm

    I’m pretty sure my son would go crazy for it! looking really good #DreamTeam

  84. Jo Hutchinson
    October 30, 2017 / 3:41 am

    I would love to win for my children

  85. Jo Carroll
    October 30, 2017 / 8:21 am

    I could see my little man having lots of fun with his daddy playing this. x

  86. Danielle Pooley
    October 30, 2017 / 9:58 am

    I would love to win this for my little boy

  87. Karen Hill
    October 30, 2017 / 6:50 pm

    i’d love to win for my little boy rory x

  88. Karen Hill
    October 30, 2017 / 6:51 pm

    i’d love to win for my little boy

  89. Kerry Kilmister
    October 30, 2017 / 11:08 pm

    I would love to win for my daughter Poppys 3rd birthday

  90. Ali Thorpe
    October 31, 2017 / 10:14 am

    I would like to win this for my youngest nephew.

  91. Rhia P
    October 31, 2017 / 11:43 am

    My son (and his daddy!) please. They’d have marvellous fun crashing this….

  92. francis lee
    October 31, 2017 / 4:26 pm

    I would love to win this for my nephew

  93. Hannah Rowley
    November 1, 2017 / 1:28 pm

    Id like to win for my nephew x

  94. Kirsty Norton
    November 1, 2017 / 2:02 pm

    I’d love to win for my daughters (and my husband)!

  95. Vicki Weston
    November 1, 2017 / 7:32 pm

    My son would love this (and so would my husband!)

  96. EJ Dunn
    November 2, 2017 / 2:15 pm

    For my little girl for when she is older. Though I think my husband might try it out first!

  97. tina edwards
    November 2, 2017 / 4:40 pm

    id love to win this for my grandson jacob whos mad about cars

  98. sheri Darby
    November 2, 2017 / 8:27 pm

    My son would just love this

  99. Julie-Anne King
    November 3, 2017 / 1:18 am

    I would love this for my son. He absolutely adores cars and can’t beat a scalextrix! A great introduction till he is old enough for the big kids version

  100. Kim Neville
    November 3, 2017 / 9:50 am

    My son would enjoy racing the cars on this track

  101. Louise Burgess
    November 3, 2017 / 9:59 am

    my son and hubby would love this for christmas fingerstightly crossed

  102. James McLaughlin
    November 3, 2017 / 11:19 am

    Would really love to win this for my daughter (and me). I can see hours of fun ahead and be lovely to get her in Scalextric like I have been all my life.

  103. Pamela Gossage
    November 3, 2017 / 1:06 pm

    I would love to win this for my grandson

  104. Kate Mitchell
    November 3, 2017 / 1:55 pm

    My boys would love this, as would ALL their cousins!!

  105. Rachael Sexey
    November 3, 2017 / 4:22 pm

    I would love to win this for my nephew

  106. olivia Kirby
    November 3, 2017 / 7:16 pm

    My little boy, Flynn

  107. Laura Cooper
    November 3, 2017 / 7:45 pm

    I would love to win this for my daughter.

  108. Katie
    November 3, 2017 / 8:49 pm

    My cousins little boy

  109. November 3, 2017 / 9:09 pm

    Would love to win for my daughter we would have lots of fun playing with this

  110. Sylvia Paul
    November 3, 2017 / 9:28 pm

    This would be the perfect Christmas pressie for my Nephew, he’s mad about cars

  111. Gill mitchell
    November 3, 2017 / 11:42 pm

    I’d love to win this for my two children, I think they’d have a great time racing each other!

  112. Deborah Clarke
    November 4, 2017 / 12:47 am

    It would make the perfect Xmas pressie for my lil grandson Hugo. Looks so much fun.

  113. Emma Hussain
    November 4, 2017 / 4:46 am

    Would love to win for my son

  114. Kelly White
    November 4, 2017 / 5:18 am

    I’d love to win for my best friend’s daughters.

  115. Robert Price
    November 4, 2017 / 5:32 am

    My Grandson Jacob

  116. Kelly Cooper
    November 4, 2017 / 6:52 am

    I would love to win for my son he has just started playing with cars and he would have so much fun with this

  117. Jacqui Rankine
    November 4, 2017 / 7:01 am

    I loved Scalextric as a kid! #dreamteam

  118. amanda greensmith
    November 4, 2017 / 9:29 am

    my grandson would love this because he’s not allowed to touch his Dads Scalextric

  119. Lucy Chester
    November 4, 2017 / 9:44 am

    I would love to win for my little nephew

  120. Anna Brown
    November 4, 2017 / 10:24 am

    This would be perfect for my racing Car mad son.

  121. Jo Hutchings
    November 4, 2017 / 10:46 am

    I would like to win this for my car loving little boy.

  122. Chris Bull
    November 4, 2017 / 11:16 am

    I’d love to win for my grandsons who love cars (so does their Dad and Grandad ) 🙂

  123. sara owen
    November 4, 2017 / 11:49 am

    I would love to win this for my 6 year old daughter shes never had one yet but loves cars so sure she would totally love this thanks for chance

  124. paula cheadle
    November 4, 2017 / 12:25 pm

    I would love this for my youngest grandson

  125. Lorraine Stone
    November 4, 2017 / 2:07 pm

    My youngest Niece, I know that she would love it.

  126. Sarah Wilson
    November 4, 2017 / 2:08 pm

    For my son.

  127. Simone Griffin
    November 4, 2017 / 3:00 pm

    My son would love this! x

  128. Jo
    November 4, 2017 / 4:28 pm

    I would love to win this for both my kids, it would make a cool Christmas present for them both so keeping my fingers crossed and thanks for the chance to win this x

  129. Kate Davies
    November 4, 2017 / 4:40 pm

    I’d love to win this for my son.

  130. Hayley F
    November 4, 2017 / 5:02 pm

    I would love to win for my nephew. Thankyou x

  131. Andrew Zazulak
    November 4, 2017 / 6:06 pm

    I would love this for my grandson, happy times ahead

  132. Chris Hall
    November 4, 2017 / 6:51 pm

    My grandson would love a scalextric

  133. Kirsty Woods
    November 4, 2017 / 7:44 pm

    For my nephew, he loves cars

  134. Edward Guerreiro
    November 4, 2017 / 7:46 pm

    I’d would be for my beautiful niece.

  135. Morag Downie
    November 4, 2017 / 7:48 pm

    Would love this for my lovely grandson

  136. Natalie Crossan
    November 4, 2017 / 8:02 pm

    My daughter would absolutely love this xxx

  137. Amy Tidd
    November 4, 2017 / 8:06 pm

    I’d love to win this for my son and daughter to share! They would have so much fun playing this together! Perfect Christmas gift! Thanks for a great review x

  138. JUDITH LUSCOMBE
    November 4, 2017 / 9:16 pm

    I would like to win it for my two little grandsons who would have hours of fun racing against each other.

  139. donna l jones
    November 4, 2017 / 9:29 pm

    my grandson ethan

  140. Laura Findlay
    November 4, 2017 / 9:35 pm

    I would love to win for my lovely son Luke please. He would love this x

  141. cassandra mayers
    November 4, 2017 / 9:39 pm

    For my daughter and her daddy so they can play together

  142. Lucy Carter
    November 4, 2017 / 9:57 pm

    I’d like to win this for my nephew

  143. Jeanette Leighton
    November 4, 2017 / 10:13 pm

    For my 2 little ones Sheriah 5 and Charlie 1

  144. marie miles
    November 4, 2017 / 10:21 pm

    my two year old grand daugghter (yes grand daughter) she is big in to cars and all car related things as her dad is a petrol head especially for anything volkswagon related, so she has developed her dads passion so id love to win this for her a nice present for xmas thank you for the chance fingers crossed

  145. Terrie-Ann Wright
    November 4, 2017 / 10:37 pm

    Would love to win this for my nephew Archie who absolutely loves cars

  146. Sarah Evans
    November 4, 2017 / 10:45 pm

    For my amazing nephew James he loves anything to do with cars

  147. Jodie A Green
    November 4, 2017 / 10:59 pm

    My 3 youngest, Amy, Hollie and James

  148. Lia Burns
    November 4, 2017 / 11:09 pm

    I’d love to win this set for my son Lewis, he’s been asking for it since his birthday in February!

  149. Pia S
    November 4, 2017 / 11:37 pm

    Our 3, 5 and 6 year olds x

  150. November 4, 2017 / 11:41 pm

    My son and daughter would love this!

  151. Adrian Bold
    November 5, 2017 / 12:03 am

    I’d love to win this for my nephew. Thanks for the competition!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge